Killing more worms!!!
  • Okay, I thought I was doing good, but I'm apparently doing something wrong. I have worms that I see on the top of the bedding in my bed and they are listless. Some of the worms are actually dead on top. At the begginning I had worms trying to escape, but I took everyone's advice and kept a light on them and they stopped escaping. Now, I have one or two escaping now and then, but it doesn't appear that all the worms are trying to get out of the bin. I would think if I had problems with the bedding that a HUGE amount of worms would be escaping, but I don't have that.

If I dig down in the 'dirt' there are more worms, but they are not quite as active as I would expect them to be; however, I'm new to this, so I'm not sure how active they should be!! Is it possible I have too many worms in my small bin and they are overcrowded?

I only feed the worms twice a week...and only feed them if the food is completely gone from the last feeding. I don't want to overfeed, but maybe I'm not feeding enough?!

I have a tray type system. I'm only using the bottom tray right now. the inside of the tray is about 17.25 inches square and about 3 inches deep. I bought 1 pound of red wigglers. The tray is only about 2 inches full of bedding...plus the worms. Should I add more bedding so the tray is more full?

Lastly, on the bottom of the tray I drilled 8 holes that are about 3/4 inch wide. They are spaced around the bottom of the tray evenly. I did this for air circulation as well as drainage. However, I have a tray on the bottom of the bin and I NEVER get any liquid in the tray. I even poured a bunch of water in the bin the other day and still none really leaked out. Does this mean my bin is too dry? Should I have drainage every day?

THANKS!! I know this is a really long post loaded with a ton of questions. I appreciate all the help I can get to make my worms happy. ;)